Sia and Jarryd James Top APRA Music Awards Nominations


Sia Furler and Jarryd James lead the nominations for this year’s APRA Music Awards with four each.

Sia is up for most played Australian work (twice) and pop work of the year (twice) for “Elastic Heart” and the Jessie J hit, “Flashlight.” The Adelaide-born, L.A.-based singer and songwriter has terrific form at the APRAs. She made history last year by winning songwriter of the year, the event’s top honor, for the third successive time.

James, meanwhile, is up for song of the year, breakthrough songwriter of the year, most played Australian work and pop work of the year for “Do You Remember.” The song has already taken out silverware, winning for best pop release at last year’s ARIA Awards.

The 2016 APRAs song of the year category will be contested by Birds Of Tokyo for “Anchor”; Jarryd James and Joel Little for “Do You Remember”; Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker for “Let It Happen”; Courtney Barnett for “Pedestrian at Best” and C.W. Stoneking for “The Zombie”.

Songwriters with multiple nominations, announced Tuesday, include AC/DC, Birds Of Tokyo, Phil Barton, Colin Buchanan, Hilltop Hoods, Vance Joy, Lee Kernaghan, Joel Little, Tkay Maidza, Garth Porter and Peking Duk.

A new award category has been introduced this year, the Overseas Recognition Award, to acknowledge significant achievements made by APRA AMCOS members based abroad.

The ceremony will be held April 5 at Carriageworks in Sydney.


About Author

Leave A Reply